As a member-owned cooperative, annual meetings provide an opportunity for members to hear reports from officers and directors, receive a financial update, ask questions and learn the results of director elections.

Director elections begin with the co-op asking for members to volunteer to serve on the Nominating Committee or to seek election to the board of directors. Announcements for both of these opportunities, along with how to apply, are in the November and/or December MiNews prior to the spring elections.

Members may seek election to the board of directors in the district he/she resides through the Nominating Committee or by petition nominations.

Survey & Ballot Systems, an independent firm, conducts the elections voting and mails a ballot and voting instructions to every member. The next director elections are:

District 1, 2023; Districts 2 & 3, 2024; Districts 4 & 5, 2025.

Specific details about the election process are provided in the co-op’s bylaws. Members with questions are encouraged to contact Heather Larson at 800-432-2285 or

Annual Report  |  Articles of Incorporation  |  Bylaws

Districts and townships

District 1 townships: Beaver, Bennington, Bloomfield, Carimona, Carrolton, Chatfield, Elmira, Fillmore, Forestville, Fountain, Frankford, Fremont, Jordan, Le Roy, Pilot Mound, Racine, Saratoga, Spring Valley, Sumner and York in Minnesota. Afton, Chester, Douglas, East Lincoln, Howard, Jamestown, Jenkins, Oakdale, Saratoga and Wayne in Iowa.

District 2 townships: Amherst, Arendahl, Bristol, Canton, Harmony, Holt, Houston, Money Creek, Norway, Preble, Preston, Rushford and Yucatan in Minnesota. Albion, Burr Oak, Forest City, Fremont, Howard Center, Orleans, and Vernon Springs in Iowa. 

District 3 townships: Black Hammer, Brownsville, Caledonia, Crooked Creek, Dresbach, Hokah, Jefferson, La Crescent, Mayville, Mound Prairie, New Hartford, Newburg, Sheldon, Spring Grove, Union, Wilmington, and Winnebago in Minnesota. Hesper, Highland, Iowa, Union City and Waterloo in Iowa.

District 4 townships: Auburn, Bloomfield, Bluffton, Calmar, Canoe, Chickasaw, Dayton, Decorah, Deerfield, Eden, Frankville, Glenwood, Hanover, Jackson, Jacksonville, Lincoln, Ludlow, Madison, Military, New Hampton, New Oregon, Paris, Pleasant, Springfield, Stapleton, Sumner, Union Prairie, Utica and Washington in Iowa.

District 5 townships: Dover, Elba, Hart, Hillsdale, Homer, Mount Vernon, Norton, Pleasant Hill, Quincy, Richmond, Rollingstone, St. Charles, Utica, Warren, Whitewater, Wilson, Winona and Wiscoy in Minnesota.