Following the merger of Tri-County Electric Cooperative and Hawkeye REC on January 1, 2017, MiEnergy Cooperative was managed by a board of 14 directors that represented the two cooperatives. Each director represents a geographical area of the cooperative’s service territory called a district. MiEnergy has five districts. Approximately one-third of the directors are elected at each annual meeting.

In 2016, members approved the plan of merger, which created a cooperative transition period with no elections in 2017, 2018 or 2019 and that allows the board to reduce the number of directors through resignations, retirements and other means deemed appropriate. However, the board shall consist of at least nine directors and no more than 14. The next director elections will be held in 2023 (district 1) 2024 (districts 2 & 3).

During the fall of 2019 when one director retired and another resigned, the board chose to not fill their seats. Another director retired in 2022, reducing the board to its current 11 directors.

Being elected to the board is a paid position that comes with responsibilities. Contact Heather Larson (800-432-2285 or for board policies.

To contact any member of the board, please call 1-800-432-2285 or email the individual director(s) at the email addresses listed.

Members can address the board at its monthly meeting during its regular agenda item reserved for member comments. Members must contact Heather Larson (800-432-2285 or prior to the meeting to confirm the date, location and to receive an estimated time for the member comment period.

Schedule of Meeting Dates

*Subject to change*

January 30- Rushford
February 29- Cresco
March 28- Rushford
April 30- Cresco
May 30- Rushford
June 27- Cresco
July 31- Rushford
August 29- Cresco
September 26- Rushford
October 31- Cresco
November 27- Rushford
December TBD- Cresco

Board Meeting Summaries

Meeting summaries are published every month in MiNews. Back issues of the publication are available online.

Your board of directors

District 1

Dennis Ptacek, board secretary
Elected: 1996
Address: Elma, IA
Contact Dennis

Jeff Redalen
Elected: 2002
Address: Fountain, Minn.
Contact Jeff

District 2

Dean Nierling, board chair
Elected: 1999
Address: Decorah, IA
Contact Dean

Ron Stevens, board vice chair
Elected: 2007
Address: Preston, Minn.
Contact Ron

District 3

Don Petersen, board treasurer
Elected: 2011
Address: Hokah, Minn.
Contact Don

Skip Wieser
Elected: 2013
Address: La Crescent, Minn.
Contact Skip​​​​​​

Dennis Young
Elected: 2004
Address: Decorah, IA
Contact Dennis

District 4

Kyle Holthaus
Elected: 2022
Address: Waukon, IA
Contact Kyle

Carl Reicks
Elected: 2010
Address: New Hampton, IA
Contact Carl

District 5

Beth Olson
Elected: 2012
Address: Lewiston, Minn.
Contact Beth


Jenny Scharmer
Elected: 2006
Address: Winona, Minn.
Contact Jenny